TIFF 2012: 62 Gala’s & Special Presentations Announced!

The 37th Annual Toronto International Film Festival will feature a stellar line up of films! Piers Handling & Cameron Bailey briefed a packed audience of media at the TIFF Bell Lightbox to announce a crazy line up of films. The opening night film plus an additional 61 Gala’s & Special Presentations have been confirmed to screen at the festival, some of which were on our predictions list! (go us!) Opening the fest will be Rian Johnson’s Looper starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Bruce Willis and Emily Blunt. You can probably picture a scream-feast on opening night right about now! See the list below for all 62 films that were announced. Thank you to Movie Knight’s Matt Rorabeck for creating a nicely organized list!

This is just the beginning to what will certainly be an exciting festival!

Opening Night Film

Rian Johnson’s Looper


Ben Affleck’s Argo
Gauri Shinde’s English Vinglish
Deepa Mehta’s Midnight Children
David O. Russell’s Silver Lining Playbook
Roger Mitchell’s Hyde Park on Hudson
Billy Bob Thorton’s Jayne Mansfield’s Car
Liz Garbus’ Love Marilyn
Shola Lynch’s Free Angela and All Political Prisoners
Derek Cianfrance’s The Place Beyond the Pines
Mike Newell’s Great Expectations
Rubba Nadda’s Inescapable
Sergio Castelitto’s Twice Born
Mira Nair’s The Reluctant Fundamentalist
Robert Redford’s The Company You Keep
Nikolai Arcel’s A Royal Affair
Hur Jin-Ho’s Dangerous Liaisons
Hideki Takeuchi’s Thermae Romae

Special Presentations

Joe Wright’s Anna Karenina
Dustin Hoffman’s Quartet
Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing
Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Wachowski’s Cloud Atlas
David Ayer’s End of Watch
Laurent Cantet’s Foxfire
Stuart Blumberg’s Thanks for Sharing
Robert Puccini and Shari Spring Berman’s Imogene
Yaron Zilberman’s A Late Quartet
Noah Baumbach’s Frances Ha
Nenad Cicin-Sain’s The Time Being
Josh Boone’s Writers
Ramin Bahrani’s At Any Price
Maiken Baird’s Venus and Serena
Jordan’s Byzantium
Sally Potter’s 1960s Ginger and Rosa
Ben Timlett, Bill Jones and Jeff Simpson’s A Liar’s Autobiography
Francois Ozon’s In the House
J.A. Bayona’s The Impossible
Margarethe von Trotta’s Hannah Arendt
Andrew Adamson’s Mr. Pip
Costa-Gavras’ Capital
Ziad Doueiri’s The Attack
Nishikawa Miwa’s Dreams for Sale
Eran Riklis’ Zaytou
Baltasar Kormakur’s The Deep
Lu Chuan’s The Last Supper
Chen Kaige’s Caught in the Web
Marco Bellocchio’s Dormant Beauty
Ana Piterbarg’s Everybody Has a Plan
Joachim Roenning and Espen Sandberg’s Kon-Tiki
Terrence Malick’s To the Wonder
Matteo Garrone’s Reality
Ben Lewis’ The Sessions’
Stephane Brize’s A Few Hours of Spring
Thomas Vinterberg’s The Hunt
Wayne Blair’s The Sapphires
Ariel Vromen’s The Iceman
Cate Shortland’s Lore
Pablo Larrain’s No
Kitano’s Outrage Beyond
Jacquest Audiard’s Rust and Bone
Stephen Fung’s Tai Chi 0.